Tags

, , , , , , ,

My “Maple-Bacon Cupcakes” are awesome! Wahoo! And the recipe goes like this:

Maple-Bacon Cupcakes
1 C maple syrup
1/2 C apricot seed oil (olive or vegetable oil work, too)
2 large free-range eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 C buckwheat flour (spelt works well, too, if you prefer it)
1/2 C brown rice cereal
1 3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 C milk (coconut, soy and rice milk work well, too)
1-2 C chopped bacon

Fry bacon and chop into small pieces, set aside. Preheat oven to 350° F (175° C). Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners. In a medium bowl mix together the maple syrup and oil. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour, cereal and baking powder in seperate bowl, add slowly to vanilla mixture and mix well. Stir in milk until batter is smooth. Fold in bacon bits, reserving approximately 1/2 C for garnish. Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full of batter, and bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool while you prepare the glaze, which goes like this:

Maple Glaze
2 Tbsp unsalted butter
1/4 C maple syrup
1 C icing sugar

Melt butter and maple syrup over medium heat. Whisk icing sugar into hot mix until smooth. Spoon over cooled cupcakes. Garnish with remaining bacon pieces.

I’ll admit the idea of “Maple-Bacon Cupcakes” was a little odd at first, but they taste very good… a little like breakfast. My elflings love them… YAY! I might try using goji berries or cherries next time… or raspberries in the cupcakes and glaze, instead of maple syrup and bacon… /sigh

As a sidenote, the addition of rice cereal was purely my kooky idea to throw in a little fibre to move that bacon thru, if you know what I mean… but it works! It doesn’t have to be there, but I like it. =0)

Maple-Bacon Cupcakes

© 2010-Current My Little Monster by My Little Monster

* Originally posted on my http://brigodoomy.blogspot.com/ blog, Wednesday, May 26, 2010

